All Guinness Products Draught, Bottle And Can Are Officially Vegan

All Guinness Products Draught, Bottle And Can Are Officially Vegan
Guiness Vegan

This is quite an old story, but hey the whole brand did became vegan at the time, so it is nice to recap on something significant like this...

Vegans everywhere celebrated the good news that Guinness, in all of its forms became officially free of animal products.

For hundreds of years, the famous stout was filtered using isinglass, a protein which comes from dried fish swim bladders. But back in 2015, Guinness announced they planned to change things to use a method which didn’t involve dead fish.

Now, vegans and vegetarians can happily go bars around the world and order a pint of The Black Stuff, with no worry of accidentally ingesting fish insides.

This was the case with pints of draft Guinness back in April 2017, but, at the time, bottles and cans of the stout still contained isinglass.

Vegans who prefer bottles and cans of Guinness can thank Diageo's new filtration process, which has removed the use of isinglass in the stout. The new move follows years of campaigning for Guinness to become vegan friendly.